Top Stories Your School Conferences The The Big Game The Hit List Best of the Week Scores Playoff Central Just 4 Coaches Just 4 Athletes Past Players Message Boards Contact Us







The Hit List 2006

The "Hit List" is a quick look at numbers and stats from around the world of Illinois High school football.


Number of schools that will have a new head coach for the 2006 season. Most notable would be the replacement of a few legendary coaches who retired after last year.

Team Old Coach New Coach
New Lenox (Providence) Matt Senffner Matt Conglianese
Naperville Central Joe Bunge Mike Stine
Deer Creek-Mackinaw Jim McDonald Jim Lindboom

Senffner, left Providence as the winningest coach in state history, with a 300-114-1 record since 1968. He had been the only head coach the Celtics had ever know, until now. Bunge, is currently 15th (234-72) on the states all time list and McDonald is 55th (178-84).

Number of schools that have a former NFL player as a head coach.Bolingbrook's John Ivlow, who is a Plainfield (Central) grad as well, Wauconda's Glen Kozlowski, a former Bears player, former Buffalo Bills WR Don Beebe, who's a Maple Park (Kaneland) grad and the head atAurora (A. Christian)& the newest addition to the bunch, former NFL linebacker John Holecek, who will be coaching atWilmette (Loyola Academy). An interesting side note, Holecek might not be the only former NFL player at the Rambler's games this year, as running back Joe Suhey, is the son of former bears fullback Matt Suhey.

Number of completely new conferences for 2006. Say hello to the Heart of Illinois made up of former members of the Sangamon Valley & the now defunct Mid-State Conference. Then there's the Metro Suburban which is a 4 school conference of former Suburban Prairie teams. The exodus of former SICA teams will have their first official season in the newly formed South Suburban Conference with a Blue & Red division. Another group of south suburban teams, including 6A State Champs Morris , dissolved the Suburban Prairie Conference and reformed as the Southwest Prairie . A couple of teams from the Suburban Prairie hooked up with Rochelle to form the Western Sun conference. And lastly, the former West Central, Prairieland & Lincoln Trail conferences, combined most of their teams to form the West Prairie Trail Conference with it's 4 divisions (East) , (North), (South) & (West).

Number of teams that will be fielding a varsity football team for the first time in 2006. Athens, Chicago (Noble Street Charter), Chicago (Raby), Grayslake (North), Plainfield (North), South Elgin & South Holland (Seton Academy). Both Athens & Seton have been active in other sports for years, but the remaining 5 are all new schools within the last few years. Plainfield North , by all accounts may be the next team to watch, as former Spring Valley (Hall) & Morris head coach Dan Darlington will be back on the field with a clipboard for the Tigers as the 2006 season kicks off.

The current longest winning streak in the state, which belongs to five time consecutive State Champs Addison (Driscoll). The Highlanders haven't lost a game since the last game of the regular season in 2004. Lombard (Montini) , was the last team to beat Driscoll and they'll be looking to do the same this year as the two meet in week #7 (Oct. 7th 1pm).

While the Highlanders may not have gone undefeated in the regular season over the last 5 years, they currently hold a record that nobody really seems to have been keeping. That is the record for most consecutive playoff games won. With a 25-0 record, even if the Highlanders don't make it 6 titles this year, each playoff game they win will create an even more impossible feat to duplicate. 23-0 would have been the old record, held by Chicago (Mt. Carmel), who after winning 4 straight titles from 1988-1991, lost in the semi-finals of the 1992 playoffs.


Past Hit Lists

2005 / 2004 / 2003 /
/ 2000 / 2001





Advertise on / About / Legal Stuff / Contact us
All Content copyright 1999-2007